Structure and course of studies

The description of the procedure is based on the PO 2022.

All those who started their studies before WS 22/23 have the possibility to change. The PO 2018 remains valid until 30.09.2026.

The bachelor's degree is the first professional qualification and qualifies students for a subsequent master's degree. Therefore, it has both the goal to prepare for a profession as a computer scientist and to pave the way to a master's degree.

Computer science is diverse and constantly evolving - we cannot prepare for specific professions because we do not know what professions will exist in five years. Therefore, the bachelor's program in computer science at RWTH aims to provide broad fundamentals in computer science (and mathematics) that you will need later in most professions. This includes basic programming skills - prior knowledge of programming languages is therefore not mandatory for the computer science program. However, a solid knowledge of English is essential and can be demonstrated, for example, by passing the Abitur examination.

In addition, skills in abstraction, model building, problem analysis and transferability are taught in order to be able to apply the knowledge acquired to new problems in the profession later on.

Also, some specialization subjects can be taken according to one's own interests. Computer science is interdisciplinary - since professions for computer scientists are usually connected to a specific application domain, the specialization area is designed to be interdisciplinary so that you can see how computer science is applied in other fields while you are still studying. To facilitate entry into a later master's program, most specialization subjects have a strong research orientation.

Soft skills play an essential role both in a later profession and in a master's degree or academic career. Therefore, teamwork as well as scientific writing and presentation are also trained in the bachelor's program.

All this knowledge and skills are taught in the form of so-called modules. A module is a self-contained teaching unit and can be a combination of lecture, exercise, discussion hours and small exercise groups, but also a lab or a seminar. Most modules are concluded by an examination - usually a written exam.

Passing a module gives so-called credits. The ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) system describes the average workload of a student: one ECTS credits corresponds to an average workload of 30 hours. For example, if a module is worth 6 ECTS credits, a workload of 180 hours per semester can be expected for this module. As an alternative to ECTS, the abbreviation CP (credit point) is also used. In total, 180 CP are acquired in the Bachelor's program.

The study program follows a specific study plan and is divided into winter semester (WiSe) and summer semester (SoSe), whereby the winter semester begins at the beginning of October and ends at the end of March, and the summer semester directly follows and ends at the end of September. Each semester is further subdivided into the lecture period, in which the modules are heard or taken, and the subsequent lecture-free period, in which the examinations on the previously taken modules are usually taken.

Study plan

Although the following sequence is not obligatory, it is recommended to follow it, because especially in the first semesters, basics are taught. In addition, some courses in following semesters can only be taken if courses from previous semesters have been passed.

Color Legend

Practical Computer Science
Technical Computer Science
Mathematics
Theoretical Computer Science
Electives
Other courses

Proseminars, seminars and lab courses

Since places in (pro) seminars and software project labs are limited, they are assigned via a separate allocation procedure. This ensures that there are no double occupancies that take a place away from fellow students.

To participate in a course in the coming semester, registration and election via SuPra in the current semester is required. The timing of the process is determined individually for each semester and is aligned with, among other things, the lecture-free period (Christmas, Pentecost, end of lectures). The exact dates will be communicated by mail in due time before the start of the process. However, you can expect this to be the case in the second half of the lecture period.

Offers can be prioritized so that the distribution always tries to assign the highest priority if possible. In addition, courses can be marked to which an allocation should be made if the prioritized courses are full. The greater the flexibility, the more likely it is to get a place. Details of the process can be found in SuPra.

Note: System Programming Lab (PSP) is not offered through SuPra.

 

Non-Technical Elective (NTW)

According to the curriculum, one non-technical elective must be taken. This comprises a total of 4 credits, which can optionally be distributed over several courses.

Typical NTWs include language courses, mentoring as an NTW, or Project Leonardo.

The corresponding achievements are provided via participation certificates, which are either transferred to the ZPA by the lecturers or handed out to the students in paper form. If a participation certificate is issued in paper form, it must be presented to the ZPA so that it can be entered in the corresponding overviews of achievements.

With regard to language courses, it should be noted that the registration periods may be at the beginning of the semester or even in the weeks prior to the beginning of the semester. It should also be noted that for advanced offerings of the Language Center, participation in appropriate placement tests is required. The number of ECTS credits for a passed language course is equal to the number of SWS, unless otherwise stated.

Further information on recognition of a language course and registration in RWTHonline as well as placement tests can be found on the pages of the Language Center.

If there is interest in a non-technical subject that is not currently in the NTW catalog for the Bachelor of Computer Science, the following must be done:

  • First, the conditions for issuing a certificate of attendance must be clarified with the lecturers.
  • An application for approval of the desired course must be sent informally by e-mail to the Study Advisory Bachelor Computer Science, stating the course number (LV-Nr.). A confirmation will follow.

Elective modules

From the third semester onwards, 3 - 4 (18 - 24 CP) modules from the elective area of computer science must be taken in the bachelor's degree program in computer science. Apart from the restriction that at least one of these elective modules must be chosen from the field of Theoretical Computer Science, there are no further restrictions on the choice of elective modules. At the beginning of each semester, there is a listing presenting the elective courses offered in the current semester.
 
A (semester-independent) overview of the entire elective course offerings in the bachelor's program in computer science can be found in the Module Handbook.

Application area

From the third semester onwards, modules in the scope of 12 - 18 CP from the application area must be taken in the bachelor's degree program in computer science.
 
Any modules from different subject areas can be combined. The following modules can be taken in the application area:
 

Bookkeeping and Managerial Accounting

Decision Theory

Operations Research

Principles of Management

Biology for students of Computer Science and Mathematics

Inorganic Chemistry

Organic Chemistry

Computational Chemistry

Theory of Chemical Bonds

Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering 3 - Signals and Systems

Power Systems

Fundamentals of Integrated Circuits and Systems

Communications Engineering

High and Medium Voltage Switchgears

Manufacturing Processes for Silicon Based Microsystems

Information Transmission

Introduction to Acoustics

Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering 2 - Modeling and Analysis of Electrical Components and Circuits

Introduction to Mechanical Engineering
Simulation Methods in Mechanical Engineering
Communication and Organisation Development
Business Engineering
Energy Economy
NC-Programming of Machine Tools
Aircraft Systems
Medical Software Engineering
Rapid Control Prototyping
Automatic Control
Computer Assisted Surgical Technology
Electromechanic Motion Technology
Medical Engineering I
Factory Design
Engineering Mechanics
Medical Engineering II
Machine Design I
Bascis of Electrical Engineering for Mechatronic Systems

Practical Course in Mathematics

Computeralgebra

Complex Analysis I

Numerical Analysis I

Numerical Analysis II

Modules from the application area Medicine have to be applied for separately at the examination board Computer Science.

Basic Module Philosophical Propaedeutics

Optional Courses of Philosophy

Physics I for Students of Natural Sciences, Mathematics, Computer Science and Engineering

Physics II for Students of Natural Sciences, Mathematics, Computer Science and Engineering

Physics Lab

Statistics

Communication Psychology

Cognitive Psychology

Media Psychology

Bachelor theses

In the Bachelor's thesis, students must work intensively on a science-related topic in computer science over a period of four months. This work usually takes place at teaching groups of the Computer Science Department and must be supervised by an examiner from the Computer Science Department. The concrete task of the thesis depends on the teaching group where the thesis is written. The topic can be theoretically or practically oriented. Examples are:

  • A literature review and evaluation of existing approaches to a current scientific topic area.
  • An in-depth evaluation and analytical or empirical comparison of selected solution concepts.
  • The implementation, further development and evaluation of existing procedures and concepts of computer science for scientific analysis (evaluation prototype) or for didactic use (demonstration prototype).
  • Evaluating the performance of systems with respect to specific tasks and workloads.

The exact procedure for assigning topics and registering for the bachelor's thesis can be found in the FAQs.

Exams and exam registration

In order to successfully complete a module, the associated examination must be passed in most cases. This is usually an exam that takes place during the lecture-free period following the course. Examinations for courses from the winter semester take place in February and March, examinations for courses from the summer semester take place in July to September.
 
Two exam dates are offered for each module, but only one exam must be passed. The first exam date tends to be at the beginning of the lecture-free period, the second at the end of the lecture-free period. Concrete exam dates can be found in RWTHOnline from the beginning of each semester.
 
Students can register for either exam date via RWTHOnline. The registration period for the first examination date usually ends two weeks before the end of the semester and for the second examination date one week before the respective examination date. We recommend that you register for the first exam date; if you do not pass, this gives you the opportunity to still register for the second exam date.
 
In some modules, admission to the written exam must first be acquired in order to be allowed to participate in this exam. This is usually the achievement of a certain number of points in the exercises that are to be worked on during the semester. For which modules an admission requirement for the written exam must be achieved is specified in the module handbook. The exact nature of this admission requirement is determined at the beginning of the semester by the lecturer of the respective module.

Exclusion of Grades

When completing the program in the standard period of study, it is possible to exclude certain module grades from the overall grade calculation. These are then entered as "passed" on the final certificate and the grade values are shown for information purposes in a separate area. To calculate possible exclusions, the Notenstreicher can be used, kindly provided by a student.

Aufbau und Ablauf

Die Beschreibung des Ablaufs orientiert sich an der PO 2022.

Alle diejenigen, die vor WS 22/23 ihr Studium aufgenommen haben, haben die Möglichkeit zu wechseln. Die PO 2018 bleibt  bis zum 30.09.2026 weiterhin gültig.

Der Bachelor ist der erste berufsbefähigende Abschluss und qualifiziert für ein späteres Masterstudium. Daher hat er sowohl das Ziel, auf einen Beruf als Informatikerin bzw. Informatiker vorzubereiten, als auch den Weg zum Masterstudium zu ebnen.

Die Informatik ist vielfältig und entwickelt sich ständig fort – wir können auf keine speziellen Berufe vorbereiten, da wir nicht wissen, welche Berufe es in fünf Jahren geben wird. Daher hat das Bachelorstudium Informatik an der RWTH das Ziel, breite Grundlagen in Informatik (und Mathematik) zu vermitteln, die man später in den meisten Berufen benötigt. Dazu gehören auch grundlegende Programmierkenntnisse – Vorkenntnisse in Programmiersprachen sind daher für das Informatikstudium nicht zwingend erforderlich. Solide Englischkenntnisse sind jedoch unerlässlich und können z. B. durch die Abiturprüfung nachgewiesen werden.

Zusätzlich werden Fähigkeiten in Abstraktion, Modellbildung, Problemanalyse und Transferfähigkeit vermittelt, um das erlernte Wissen später auf neue Problemstellungen im Beruf anwenden zu können.

Auch können einige Spezialisierungsfächer nach eigenen Interessen belegt werden. Informatik ist interdisziplinär – da Berufe für Informatikerinnen und Informatiker meist in einer bestimmten Anwendungsdomäne angesiedelt sind, ist der Spezialisierungsbereich interdisziplinär angelegt, damit man bereits während des Studiums sieht, wie Informatik in anderen Bereichen angewendet wird. Um den Einstieg in ein späteres Masterstudium zu erleichtern, haben die meisten Spezialisierungsfächer einen starken Forschungsbezug.

Sowohl in einem späteren Beruf als auch im Masterstudium bzw. bei einer akademischen Karriere spielen Softskills eine wesentliche Rolle. Daher werden im Bachelorstudium auch Teamwork sowie wissenschaftliches Schreiben und Präsentieren trainiert.

All diese Kenntnisse bzw. Fähigkeiten werden im Ramen sogenannter Module vermittelt. Ein Modul ist eine abgeschlossene Lehreinheit und kann eine Kombination aus Vorlesung, Übung, Fragestunde und Kleingruppenübungen sein, aber auch ein Praktikum oder ein Seminar. Die meisten Module werden durch eine Prüfung – im Regelfall eine Klausur – abgeschlossen.

Das Bestehen eines Moduls gibt sogenannte Credits. Das ECTS (European Credit Transfer System)-Punktesystem beschreibt die durchschnittliche Arbeitsbelastung eines Studierenden: ein ECTS-Punkt entspricht einer durchschnittlichen Arbeitsbelastung von 30 Stunden. Ist ein Modul z.B. mit 6 ECTS-Punkten bewertet, ist für dieses Modul mit einer Arbeitsbelastung von 180 Stunden im Semester zu rechnen. Alternativ zu ECTS wird auch das Kürzel CP (Credit Points) gebraucht. Insgesamt werden im Bachelorstudium 180 CP erworben.

Das Studium folgt einem bestimmten Studienplan und wird unterteilt in Wintersemester (WiSe) und Sommersemester (SoSe), wobei das Wintersemester Anfang Oktober beginnt und Ende März endet, und das Sommersemester direkt daran anschließt und Ende September endet. Jedes Semester wird noch einmal  unterteilt in die Vorlesungszeit, in der die Module gehört bzw. belegt werden, und die darauf folgende vorlesungsfreie Zeit, in der im Regelfall die Prüfungen über die vorher belegten Module abgelegt werden.

Studienplan

Obwohl der folgende Ablauf nicht verpflichtend ist, wird empfohlen, sich daran zu halten, da insbesondere in den ersten Semestern Grundlagen vermittelt werden. Zudem sind einige Veranstaltungen der Folgesemester nur belegbar, wenn Veranstaltungen aus den vorherigen Semestern bestanden wurden.

Farblegende

Praktische Informatik
Technische Informatik
Mathematik
Theoretische Informatik
Wahlpflichtbereich
Sonstige Leistungen

Proseminare, Seminare und Praktika

Da Plätze in (Pro-)Seminaren und Software-Projektpraktika begrenzt sind, werden sie über ein eigenes Vergabeverfahren. So wird sichergestellt, dass es keine doppelten Belegungen gibt, die Mitstudierenden  einen Platz wegnehmen.

Zur Teilnahme an einem Kurs im kommenden Semester ist eine Registrierung und Wahl über SuPra  im aktuellen Semester notwendig. Der zeitliche Ablauf des Prozesses wird für jedes Semester individuell festgelegt und u. a. an der vorlesungsfreien Zeit (Weihnachten, Pfingsten, Vorlesungsende) ausgerichtet. Die genauen Daten werden rechtzeitig vor Beginn des Prozesses per Mail kommuniziert. Man kann aber damit rechnen, dass dieses in der zweiten Vorlesungshälfte der Fall ist.

Dabei können Angebote priorisiert werden, sodass bei der Verteilung versucht wird, möglichst immer die höchste Priorität zu vergeben. Zusätzlich können Kurse markiert werden, zu denen eine Zuteilung erfolgen soll, falls die priorisierten Kurse voll sind. Je größer die Flexibilität hier ist, desto wahrscheinlicher ist es, einen Platz zu bekommen. Details zum Prozess können in SuPra eingesehen werden.

Hinweis: Das Praktikum Systemprogrammierung (PSP) wird nicht über SuPra vermittelt.

 

Nichttechnisches Wahlfach (NTW)

Nach dem Studienplan ist ein nicht-technisches Wahlfach zu belegen. Dieses umfasst insgesamt 4 Credits, die wahlweise auch auf mehrere Veranstaltungen verteilt werden können.

Typische NTWs sind Sprachkurse, Mentoring als NTW oder Projekt Leonardo.

Die entsprechenden Leistungen werden über Teilnahmenachweise erbracht, die entweder von den Dozierenden an das ZPA übertragen oder in Papierform an die Studierenden ausgehändigt werden. Wird ein Teilnahmenachweis in Papierform erstellt, muss dieser im ZPA vorgelegt werden, damit er in die entsprechende Leistungsübersicht eingetragen werden kann.

Bei den Sprachkursen sollte beachtet werden, dass die Anmeldezeiträume z.T. zu Semesteranfang oder auch schon in den Wochen vor Semesteranfang liegen können. Außerdem sollte beachtet werden, dass für fortgeschrittene Angebote des Sprachenzentrums die Teilnahme an entsprechenden Einstufungstests notwendig ist. Die Anzahl der ECTS für einen bestandenen Sprachkurs ist gleich der Anzahl der SWS, sofern nicht anders angegeben.

Weitere Informationen zu Anerkennung eines Sprachkurses und Eintragung in RWTHonline sowie Einstufungstests finden sich auf den Seiten des Sprachenzentrums.

Sollte Interesse an einem nicht-technischen Fach bestehen, das aktuell noch nicht im NTW-Katalog des Bachelor Informatik zu finden ist, muss Folgendes getan werden:

  • Zunächst müssen die Bedingungen für die Erteilung eines Teilnahmenachweises mit den Dozierenden geklärt werden.
  • Ein Antrag auf Genehmigung der gewünschten Veranstaltung muss unter Angabe der Lehrveranstaltungsnummer (LV-Nr.) formlos per E-Mail an die Fachstudienberatung für den Bachelor Informatik geschickt werden. Eine Bestätigung folgt.

Wahpflichtmodule

Ab dem dritten Fachsemester sind im Bachelor-Studiengang Informatik 3 – 4 (18 – 24 CP) Module aus Wahlpflichtbereich Informatik zu belegen. Abgesehen von der Einschränkung, dass mindestens eines dieser Wahlpflichtmodule aus dem Bereich Theoretische Informatik gewählt werden muss, gibt es bei der Wahl der Wahlpflichtmodule keine weiteren Einschränkungen. Zu Beginn jedes Semesters gibt es eine Auflistung, in der die im aktuellen Semester angebotenen Wahlpflichtveranstaltungen vorgestellt werden.
 
Ein (semesterunabhängiger) Überblick des gesamten Wahlpflichtangebots im Bachelor-Studiengang Informatik findet sich im Modulhandbuch.

Anwendungsbereich

Ab dem dritten Fachsemester sind im Bachelorstudiengang Informatik Module im Umfang von 12 – 18 CP aus dem Anwendungsbereich zu belegen.
 
Dabei können beliebige Module aus verschieden Fachbereichen kombiniert werden. Folgende Module können in Anwendungsbereich belegt werden:
 

Buchführung und Internes Rechnungswesen

Entscheidungslehre

Quantitative Methoden (Operations Research)

Grundlagen des Management

Biologie für Studierende der Informatik und Mathematik

Allgemeine Chemie: Anorganische Chemie

Allgemeine Chemie: Organische Chemie

Computational Chemistry

Theorie der chemischen Bindung

Grundgebiete der Elektrotechnik 3 – Signale und Systeme

Elektrizitätsversorgungssysteme

Grundlagen integrierter Schaltungen und Systeme

Kommunikationstechnik

Hoch- und Mittelspannungsschaltgeräte und -anlagen

Herstellungsprozesse für siliziumbasierte Mikrosysteme

Informationsübertragung

Einführung in die Akustik

Grundgebiete der Elektrotechnik 2 – Modellierung und Analyse elektrischer Komponenten und Schaltungen

Einführung in den Maschinenbau
Simulationstechnik
Kommunikation und Organisationsentwicklung
Business Engineering
Energiewirtschaft
NC-Programmierung von Werkzeugmaschinen
Luftverkehrssysteme
Softwareentwicklung in der Medizintechnik
Rapid Control Prototyping
Regelungstechnik
Computerunterstützte Chirurgietechnik
Elektromechanische Antriebstechnik
Medizintechnik I
Fabrikplanung
Technische Mechanik
Medizintechnik II
Maschinengestaltung I
Grundlagen der Elektrotechnik für mechatronische Systeme

Mathematisches Praktikum

Computeralgebra

Funktionentheorie I

Numerische Analysis I

Numerische Analysis II

Module aus dem Anwendungsbereich Medizin müssen gesondert beim Prüfungsausschuss Informatik beantragt werden.

Basismodul Philosophische Propädeutik

Wahlpflicht Philosophie

Physik I für Studierende der Naturwissenschaften, Mathematik, Informatik und Ingenieurwissenschaften

Physik II für Studierende der Naturwissenschaften, Mathematik, Informatik und Ingenieurwissenschaften

Physikalisches Praktikum

Statistics

Communication Psychology

Cognitive Psychology

Media Psychology

Bachelorarbeiten

In der Bachelorarbeit müssen sich Studierenden in einem Zeitraum von vier Monaten intensiv mit einem wissenschaftsnahen Thema der Informatik beschäftigen. Diese Arbeiten finden in der Regel an den Lehreinheiten der Fachgruppe Informatik statt und müssen von einem/einer Prüfenden aus der Fachgruppe Informatik betreuet werden. Dabei ist die konkrete Aufgabenstellung der Arbeit abhängig davon, an welcher Lehreinheit die Arbeit geschrieben wird. Das Thema kann theoretisch oder praktisch orientiert sein. Beispiele dafür sind:

  • Ein Literaturüberblick und eine Bewertung bestehender Ansätze zu einem aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Themengebiet
  • Eine vertiefte Bewertung und ein analytischer oder empirischer Vergleich von ausgewählten Lösungskonzepten
  • Die Implementierung, Weiterentwicklung und Evaluierung von bestehenden Verfahren und Konzepten der Informatik zur wissenschaftlichen Analyse (Evaluierungsprototyp) oder zur didaktischen Verwendung (Demonstrationsprototyp)
  • Die Evaluierung der Leistungsfähigkeit von Systemen in Bezug auf bestimmte Aufgabenstellungen und Arbeitslasten.

Das genau Verfahren zur Themenvergabe und Anmeldung der Bachelorarbeit befindet sich in den FAQs

Prüfungen und Prüfungsanmeldung

Um ein Modul erfolgreich abzuschließen, muss in den meisten Fällen die dazugehörige Prüfung bestanden werden. Dies ist im Regelfall eine Klausur, die in der vorlesungsfreien Zeit direkt im Anschluss an die Veranstaltung stattfindet. Klausuren für Veranstaltungen aus dem Wintersemester finden im Februar und März statt, Klausuren für Veranstaltung aus dem Sommersemester finden im Juli bis September statt.
 
Für jedes Modul werden zwei Prüfungstermine angeboten, es muss aber nur eine Prüfung bestanden werden. Der erste Prüfungstermin ist eher am Anfang der vorlesungsfreien Zeit, der zweite eher an Ende der vorlesungsfreien Zeit. Wann die Prüfungstermine genau liegen, kann ab Anfang des jeweiligen Semesters in RWTHOnline eingesehen werden.
 
Studierende können sich über RWTHOnline für einen der beiden Prüfungstermin anmelden. Die Anmeldungsfrist für den ersten Prüfungstermin endet in der Regel zwei Wochen vor Semesterende und für den zweiten Prüfungstermin eine Woche vor dem jeweiligen Prüfungstermin. Wir empfehlen, sich für den ersten Prüfungstermin anzumelden; falls dieser nicht bestanden wurde, besteht so die Möglichkeit, sich noch für den zweiten Prüfungstermin anzumelden.
 
In einigen Modulen muss zunächst eine Zulassung zur Klausur erworben werden, damit man an dieser Klausur teilnehmen darf. Dies ist in der Regel das Erreichen einer bestimmten Punktzahl in den Übungen, die semesterbegleitend bearbeitet werden sollen. Für welche Module eine Zulassungsvoraussetzung zur Klausur erreicht werden muss, ist im Modulhandbuch festgelegt. Wie diese Zulassungsvoraussetzung genau aussieht, wird am Anfang des Semesters vom Dozierenden des jeweiligen Moduls festgelegt.

Notenstreichung

Bei Abschluss des Studiums in Regelstudienzeit ist es möglich, gewisse Modulnoten aus der Gesamtnotenberechnung auszuschließen. Diese werden dann als „bestanden“ im Abschlusszeugnis eingetragen und die Notenwerte in einem gesonderten Bereich nachrichtlich ausgewiesen. Zur Berechnung möglicher Streichungen kann das Notenstreicher-Tool genutzt werden, welches freundlicher Weise durch einen Studenten bereitgestellt wird.