I think there is a world market for maybe five computers

Thomas John Watson (1943)

That's what the CEO of IBM is supposed to have said. Today we know better! Life without fast data processing, without the Internet, apps, e-mail, media streaming and intelligent systems is hardly conceivable.

Computer science as a science of analysis, design and realization of information processing systems has become indispensable. Using basic terms such as architecture, algorithm, information, complexity and efficiency, it describes and investigates the static structure and dynamic behavior of such systems. It deals with both, qualitative and quantitative classification of problems and algorithms, and furthermore with the solution of concrete application problems.

In between the areas of mathematics and engineering, computer science has evolved into a discipline with its own scientific methodology. 

Computer science at RWTH stands for a great variety of research areas. However, it also guarantees a high degree of interdisciplinary cooperation with the natural and engineering sciences as well as linguistics and communication sciences.

In order to learn the necessary communication with users, courses from the field of application such as business administration, mathematics, electrical engineering, biology, mechanical engineering, medicine, philosophy, physics, chemistry and psychology can be attended beginning with the third semester.

I think there is a world market for maybe five computers

Thomas John Watson (1943)

Das soll der Vorstandsvorsitzende von IBM gesagt haben. Heute wissen wir es besser! Ein Leben ohne schnelle Datenverarbeitung, ohne Internet, Apps, E-Mail, Media Streaming und intelligente Systeme ist kaum noch denkbar.

Informatik als Wissenschaft der Analyse, Konzeption und Realisierung informationsverarbeitender Systeme ist unverzichtbar geworden. Mit Grundbegriffen wie Architektur, Algorithmus, Information, Komplexität und Effizienz beschreibt und untersucht sie die statische Struktur und das dynamische Verhalten solcher Systeme. Sie beschäftigt sich sowohl mit der qualitativen als auch mit der quantitativen Klassifizierung von Problemen und Algorithmen und darüber hinaus mit der Lösung konkreter Anwendungsprobleme.

Im Spannungsfeld zwischen Mathematik und Ingenieurwissenschaft hat sich die Informatik zu einer Disziplin mit eigener wissenschaftlicher Methodik entwickelt. 

Die Informatik der RWTH steht für eine große Vielfalt an Forschungsgebieten. Sie garantiert aber auch ein hohes Maß an interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit mit den Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften sowie den Sprach- und Kommunikationswissenschaften.

Um die notwendige Kommunikation mit Anwenderinnen und Anwendern zu erlernen, können ab dem dritten Semester Veranstaltungen aus dem Anwendungsbereich wie Betriebswirtschaftslehre, Mathematik, Elektrotechnik, Biologie, Maschinenbau, Medizin, Philosophie, Physik, Chemie, Psychologie besucht werden.